Chennai, Apr 2 UNI | 4 months ago

Punjab and Haryana qualified for semi-finals from pool A and C, respectively in the 4th Hockey India J

or Men National Championship 2014 (Division A) here today.
Spearheaded by Ajit Pandit who scored three goals, Punjab outclassed Hockey Tamil Nadu by 9-1 to top their pool A. Baljinder Singh (2), Parvinder Singh (1), Varun Kumar (1), Harmanpreet (1) and Shamsher Singh (1) contributed one goal each for Punjab. Anand Satthi Krishnan scored the one goal for TN.

In Pool C match Haryana snatched an exciting 2-1 verdict against Jharkhand to emerge their pool champions.

In a defence-dominating game, Haryana's Karmbir managed to sneak in a field goal in the 42nd minute of the game. Three minutes later Nikhil Saroha gave Haryana a 2-0 lead. With just a minute in hand before the final buzzer went off, Jharkhand's Amit Bhengra sliced in a field goal to 2-1 reduce the margin. Haryana registered their second win in the championship and entered the semi-finals.

In Pool A match, Punjab's enthusiasm to enter the semi-finals helped in crushing the Tamil Nadu in today's match with a glorious 9-1 margin. Punjab's Parvinder Singh opened the account for the team in the 4th minute of the match itself, followed by Ajit Pandit, Varun Kumar and Baljinder Kaur in the 12th, 16th and the 35th minutes contributing a total of four goals for the team.

Tamil Nadu managed to score only one goal which came through Anand Satthi Krishnan in the 28th minute. Punjab fired five more goals in the second half of the match where Ajit Pandit became the top scorer with a total of three goals to his credit. In another Pool C match, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy and Uttar Pradesh put up a good fight.. Mohd Nizamuddin opened the account for Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy in the 14th minute.

Raju Pal's penalty corner in the 25th minute helped Uttar Pradesh to level the scores at 1-1. Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy's Nikky Kushal managed to gain the lead back when he converted a penalty corner in the 29th minute but it was Uttar Pradesh's Manish Rajbhar who scored the equalizer in the 33rd minute to stop the score at 2-2 by the end of the first half. Within a minute after the second half started Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy's Arjun Sharma sneaked in the third goal for the team which saw a quick counter by Uttar Pradesh's Manish Rajbhar in the 38th minute. The game now tied at 3-3 saw the last and the winning goal coming through Mohd Nizamuddin in the 46th minute which helped the team register a 4-3 win.

Results Pool C Hockey Haryana 2 Karmbir (42 min) and Nikhil Saroha (45 min) Vs. Hockey Jharkhand 1 Amit Bhengra (69 min) Pool A Hockey Punjab 9 Ajit Pandit (12, 66 and 69 min), Baljinder Singh (35 and 68 min), Parvinder Singh (4 min), Varun Kumar (16 min), Harmanpreet Singh (49 min) and Shamsher Singh (60 min) Vs. Hockey Tamil Nadu 1 Anand Satthi Krishnan (28 min) Pool C Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 4 Mohd Nizamuddin (14 and 46 min), Nikky Kushal (29 min) and Arjun Sharma (36 min) Vs. Uttar Pradesh Hockey 3 Manish Rajbhar (33 and 38 min) and Raju Pal (25 min).

(Posted on 02-04-2014)