Visakhapatnam, Apr 2 UNI | 4 months ago

Goa moved to the top of the South Zone table with their second win in two matches beating last year runner-up Kerala by two runs in the Y S Rajasekhara Reddy-ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium here today.

Sent in to bat, Goa's openers impressed for the second match in a row. Sagun Kamat made his second half-century of the tournament, scoring a 44-ball 55, while S Asnodkar made a 44-ball 64, an innings that included five fours and three sixes.

No one else contributed much to the score, though, and Goa lost seven wickets for 59 runs to go from 90 for no loss to finish at 149 for 7.

Kerala used nine bowlers, giving everyone a go apart from Jafar Jamal and their wicketkeeper Sanju Samson.

Kerala lost wickets regularly in their chase, but opener VA Jagadeesh kept them going with a 43-ball 42 before Padmanabhan Prasanth, smashed an unbeaten 22-ball 43, with two fours and four sixes, to bring Kerala to within three runs of victory with two wickets in hand. Medium-pacer Harshad Gadekar was Goa's most successful bowler, with figures of 3 for 16 in four overs.

In the Second match, between Andhra and Tamil Nadu at Vizianagaram Fort Town a four-wicket haul from left-arm spinner Rahil Shah gave Tamil Nadu a 32- run win by the V Jayadevan method, over Andhra in Vizianagaram.

Shah opened the bowling and took the first three Andhra wickets as they slipped to 19 for 3 chasing a revised target of 159 in 17 overs. Opener Koripalli Sreekanth made a 28-ball 42, but no one else made a sizeable contribution as Andhra were shot out for 126 with 10 balls remaining.

Sent in to bat, Tamil Nadu moved to 39 for 1 after six overs when rain stopped play. The match was then reduced to 17 overs a side. After play resumed, opener Murali Vijay scored a 40-ball 54 and extended his second-wicket partnership with Baba Aparajith to 97 from 59 balls. Aparajith made a 33-ball 41.

Both fell in the space of five balls, before Dinesh Karthik struck 27 off 10 balls, with a four and three sixes, to power Tamil Nadu to 157 for 7. Seamer D Shivkumar was Andhra's most successful bowler, with figures of 3 for 26.

In the third match between Hyderabad and Karnataka at YS Rashasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium here today Hyderabad beat Karnataka by nine wickets with the help of Akashath Reddy (69) and Hanuma Vihari (64).

Brief scores: Karanataka 140 all out in 19.6 overs and Hyderabad 141 for one wicket in 17.3 overs.

Goa and Hyderabad got eight points each in top table.

(Posted on 02-04-2014)