Bhubaneswar, Apr 2 UNI | 4 months ago

As many as 26 out of 97 Candidates contesting the 10 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha in the first phase are crorepatis.

A party wise analysis of assets conducted by the Association of Democratic Reforms and Odisha Election Watch said eight Congress candidates, seven BJD, four BJP, one AAP and one BSP candidates have declared assets worth more than Rs one crore each.

At least eight candidates have more than Rs 5 crore worth of assets.

The BJD candidate Hemendra Chandra Singh contesting for the Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat has the highest total assets of more than Rs 50 crore followed by Mr Harihar Karan of Congress, who has assets worth more than Rs 9 crore. Mr Karan is pitted against Mr Singh.

Mr Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo seeking re-election from Balangir Lok Sabha seat on BJD ticket figured in the third place with a total assests of over Rs eight crore.

The analysis said eleven of the 97 candidates have declared total annual income of over Rs 10 lakh.

Mr Amarnath Pradhan of Congress from Sambalpur constituency has the highest total annual income of Rs 44.33 lakh followed by Balabhadra Majhi of BJD from Nabarangpur constituency with Rs 19.89 lakh and Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo of BJD from Bolangir with Rs 18.85 lakh.

The report said the average assets per candidate contesting the 2014 Lok Sabha elections from Odisha in the first phase is Rs 1.62 crore.

The party wise analysis-the average assets of ten Congress candidates is Rs 3.28 crore, Rs 1.72 crore for ten BJP candidates, Rs 8.32 crore for ten BJD candidates, Rs 20.34 lakh for eight AAP candidates and Rs 39.13 lakh for ten BSP candidates.

Out of the assets of 97 contesting candidates, 17 candidates have declared assets less than Rs 2 lakh.

CPI(ML) candidate from Kalahandi Balaram Hota with a total assets of a little over Rs 1,000 has the lowest assets, followed by Lawrencia Lakra (IND) from Sundergarh Rs 1500 and Prakash Hikaka, CPI(ML) Red Star candidate contesting from Koraput with total assets of Rs 2,500.

At least one candidate Ashok Mittal of AITC contesting for Baragarh lok Sabha seat has zero assets.

A total of 15 candidates have declared liabilities above Rs 10 lakh.

Mr Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo of BJD from Balangir has declared liabilities of Rs 2.44 crore, followed by Dhanada Kanta Mishra of AAP from Berhampur Rs 56.62 lakh and Hemendra Chandra Singh of BJD from Kandhamal has liabilities of Rs 47.86 lakh.

Odisha goes to polls on April 10 and 17.

(Posted on 02-04-2014)