Ahmedabad, Apr 2 UNI | 4 months ago

The electoral process in Gujarat for the coming Lok Sabha polls on April 30 will begin today with start of issuance of notification and nomination filing process.

The BJP-ruled state will go to a single phase polling on April 30, for 26 Lok Sabha seats.

Last date for filing of nomination is April 9. scrutiny of which will be done on April 10. Last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 12. Counting of votes will be held on May 16.

Gujarat Chief Minister and BJP's Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, in his debut Lok Sabha election, will contest from Vadodara seat. He is also contesting from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh.

BJP patriarch LK Advani will contest from his current Gandhinagar seat. The BJP veteran was earlier reluctant to contest from the seat fearing 'sabotage' by 'team Modi'.

He had expressed wish to contest from a safe Bhopal seat.

Other prominent BJP candidates in the fray include Gujarat Ministers Liladharbhai Vaghela (Patan) and Jasvantsinh Bhabhor (Dahod (ST)) and Bollywood actor Paresh Rawal, who will contest from Ahmedabad East.

Veteran BJP leader and seven time MP Hiren Pathak was denied ticket this time and his seat was given to Paresh Rawal.

Congress leader and Leader of Opposition in the Gujarat Assembly Shankarsinh Vaghela will contest from Sabarkantha.

The BJP has retained 11 MPs including Mr Advani. The ruling party in the state has also given tickets to three women candidates. Currently the BJP has 17 MPs in the state while the Congress has nine MPs.

The BJP's list for Gujarat also shows that in a bid to achieve his 'Mission 272+', Modi has deployed every trick of the trade from caste equations to local perception.

By fielding Mr Modi from Vadodara, the BJP was hoping an impact on neary by seats due to his charisma. Six MLAs have also been deployed in the Lok Sabha polls by the BJP.

(Posted on 02-04-2014)