By Ravinder Singh Robin, Amritsar, Apr.01 ANI | 7 months ago

Former Punjab Chief Minister and Congress Lok Sabha candidate from Amritsar, Capt. Amarinder Singh, on Tuesday said the remark made by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi about his '56 inch chest' indicated his 'chauvinistic pride and shameless arrogance'.

"This election season has thrown up many a xenophobes, fascists and pseudo-nationalists camouflaging as ultranationalists beating their '56 inch chest' with chauvinistic pride and shameless arrogance" wrote Amarinder on his Facebook wall apparently referring to Modi.

Asserting that it was Congress which had made sacrifices for the country, the former Punjab CM said: "Just want to remind them that this country has been nourished and nurtured with the blood and great sacrifices of our great leaders who incidentally all belonged to the Congress".

"Apparently that happens to be the reason of the '56 inch breast beating' to pre-empt people from questioning their fascist ultra-nationalism. Unlike the Congress, our ultranationalists do not have even a single example of sacrifice for the country", he added.

Not forgetting his rival Arun Jaitley, who is also contesting the Lok Sabha elections from Amritsar, Amarinder said, "Not surprisingly our esteemed guest from New Delhi subscribes to no different views."

Referring to Jaitley rejecting the suggestion of Modi apologising for 2002 riots, he said, "His outright rejection of Narendra Modi apologizing for what happened in Gujarat in 2002 only betrays an intoxicated arrogance that seems to have taken better of him".

He reminded Jaitley that innocent people were killed in Gujarat in the name of religion.

"Mr Modi was the Chief Minister heading the state administration. He does owe answers and apology", he asserted while adding, rather sarcastically, "rest assured, an apology neither lowers the stature of the man, nor deflates his 56 inch chest into 36 inches."

(Posted on 01-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |