Saturday, February 06 2016

Home > News > Cricket News

India set a stiff target of 297

Posted on Jan 22 2014 | IANS

Hamilton, Jan 22 ( IANS) India were set a revised target of 297 in 42 overs according to the Duckworth-Lewis method in a rain-shortened second ODI against New Zealand here Wednesday.

New Zealand made 271 for seven in 42 overs after play was held up for two hours due to rain.

Kane Williamson was the top scorer with 77 while ex-skipper Ross Taylor made 57, his second consecutive half-century in the series.

Martin Guptill and Corey Anderson made 44 each but in contrasting fashion. Guptill took 65 balls while Anderson needed just 17 balls.

Anderson smacked five sixes and two fours during his whirlwind knock and missed the record of the fastest ODI fifty by a whisker. Indian pacer Mohammad Shami got three for 55.

The first interruption took place when the hosts were 98/1 in the 17th over. They were off the ground for seven minutes due to a heavy drizzle.

When the second interruption took place, New Zealand, put in to bat by India, were set for a big score when the rain came down heavily and play was stopped with the score at 170/2 in 33.2 overs.

But when play resumed, New Zealand suffered a batting collapse and from 170/2 they slumped to 252/7. They lost wickets in a heap but still managed to score 101 runs in the last 8.4 overs.

Kane Williamson was batting on 76 and Ross Taylor on 26 when play was interrupted. Opening batsmen Martin Guptill made 44 and Jesse Ryder 20.

Earlier, India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to field against New Zealand. India are fielding an unchanged squad while New Zealand made one change by bringing in Kyle Mills for the injured Adam Milne.

Latest News: