New Delhi/Hyderabad, March 27 IANS | 7 months ago

The Supreme Court Thursday directed the Andhra Pradesh State Election Commission not to declare the results of local body elections before May 7.

Hearing a petition challenging the panel's decision to announce the results of panchayat raj elections on April 13, the court asked the election authorities to declare the results after May 7.

The petitioner had argued that the results could impact the simultaneous elections to state assembly and Lok Sabha scheduled in two phases on April 30 and May 7.

The apex court also directed the election commission to hold the polls to the local bodies on April 6 and 11.

The commission had announced polls in two phases on April 6 and 8 but the petitioner raised an objection on the ground that the date for the second phase is clashing with Ramanavmi.

The election to 1,096 Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituencies (ZPTCs) and 16,589 Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituencies (MPTCs) will now be held on April 6 and 11.

Meanwhile, Andhra Pradesh High Court adjourned to Friday hearing on a petition, seeking direction to the election commission not to declare the results of the municipal elections till May 7.

The elections to 146 municipalities and 10 municipal corporations in the state are scheduled on March 30 and the commission has decided to announce the results on April 2.

The political parties have already urged the commission not to announce the results before May 7 as this could impact the voting in assembly and Lok Sabha polls.

The state election commission had to announce schedules for elections to rural and urban local bodies on the directions of the Supreme Court and the state high court respectively.

The courts had taken strong exception to the delay in conduct of the local body polls.

(Posted on 27-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |