Gurgaon, March 27 IANS | 7 months ago

Usha Rani Verma, Kusheshwar Bhagat and Abdul Latif are among the 22 candidates contesting for the Gurgaon Lok Sabha seat. They are a housewife, a Pav Bhaji vendor and a tyre mechanic.

Verma, a 36-year-old resident of Rajiv Nagar, is a post-graduate housewife and the only woman candidate.

Rao Inderjeet Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Yogendra Yadav of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Zakir Hussain of the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and Rao Dharampal Singh of the Congress are the main contenders.

There are a total of 13 Independent candidates in the fray this time.

Kusheshwar Bhagat, a resident of Kirti Nagar here, hails from Maharashtra and has been living in Gurgaon for over 15 years. He is a Pav Bhaji vendor.

He had also contested in the 2009 Lok Sabha election and the last two assembly polls.

"I wanted to contest on an AAP ticket but could not get it," Bhagat said.

Though Bhagat never won any election, people call him "Election wala Pav Bhaji".

Abdul Latif, a resident of Sarai Alawardi village here, has been repairing punctured tyres for years.

"We were regular voters of the Congress. I don't want to vote for any other party, but the Congress was out of the fight. So I decided to contest as an Independent," Latif said.

In the 2009 election, there were two women candidates - Sudha Yadav of the BJP and Vimla, an Independent.

(Posted on 27-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |