Phulbari (West Bengal) The Border Security Force (BSF) has beefed up security along the Indo-Bangladesh border in North Bengal Frontier region in the wake of the upcoming parliamentary polls. ANI | 7 months ago

The BSF is keeping a strong vigil on the border to prevent any untoward incident.

BSF Inspector General for the North Bengal Frontier, S. K. Sood, said they have tightened security along Indo-Bangladesh border and are in regular touch with both the police and security agencies for any information.

"We are not apprehended by any threat from Bangladesh. However, as it is pre-election period, the rate of personnel deployment will remain high till the elections are over. And, whatever surveillance equipments we have, will be used. We have a (good) rapport with the police, and we take action on intelligence reports received from the police or from intelligence agencies. More supervisory officers will be put on duty at the border to avoid any laxity," said Sood on Wednesday.

A total number of 14 battalions of the BSF will be keeping a vigil at the North Bengal Frontier during the elections, Sood revealed.

India shares approximately 4096 kilometers of border with Bangladesh, of which West Bengal has the most, amounting to around 2216 kilometers. The North Bengal Frontier has a border of 1070 kilometers with the country and has a number of porous areas.

The region has fencing along most part with the number of gaps in between. In the first phase of polling process, northern Bengal which includes constituencies of Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri, Alipurduar and Cooch Behar will vote on April 17.

In the second phase of voting, which is scheduled to begin on April 24, people from the constituencies of Raiganj, North and South Malda, Balurghat, Jangipur, Murshidabad of West Bengal state will go to vote.

(Posted on 27-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |