Johannesburg, Mar 27 ANI | 7 months ago

Former Pakistani players have slammed the Bangladesh Cricket Board's (BCB) decision to ban the local fans from waving non-Bangladeshi flags during the ongoing World Twenty20 tournament.

The BCB made the ruling on the eve of the country's 44th Independence Day following an outcry over images of locals waving Pakistani flags during the recent Asia Cup.

According to Sport24, former Pakistani captain Javed Miandad slammed the move, saying that it violated the spirit of the game as cricket is a game that harbours sportsmanship spirit, while another former captain Mohammad Yousuf urged the BCB to rethink their decision, saying that it defies logic and believing that the ICC will be seeking an explanation.

Yousuf, who played 90 Tests and 288 ODIs for Pakistan, said he had always been warmly received in Bangladesh and added that he has also seen the home fans want to support Pakistan whenever their own team is not competing against Pakistan.

Agreeing with Yousuf, another former captain Younis Khan said that the decision is against the spirit of the game, adding that no one can stop a person from supporting his favourite team.

Bangladesh and Pakistan face each other in a potentially crucial World T20 group match in Mirpur on Sunday, the report added.

(Posted on 27-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |