New Delhi, March 25 IANS | 7 months ago

The Election Commission has urged all the new voters who have got themselves enrolled in the capital's electoral list to collect their voter identity cards by April 4 from the district election offices, an official said Tuesday.

"A total of 6.45 lakh new voters have been enrolled in the electoral roll after Jan 31 in the national capital," Delhi Chief Electoral Officer Vijay Dev told a press conference here.

There are a total of 1.27 crore voters in the national capital and of them more than one lakh are first-time voters.

"Of the total 11,763 polling stations, 407 have been tagged as critical, while 90 have been tagged as hyper critical polling stations," Dev said.

"A large number of security forces will be deployed in all the critical and hyper critical polling stations," added Dev.

A total of 156 candidates are in the fray for the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi after the scrutiny of their nomination papers March 24. The contestants may withdraw their candidature till March 26.

"A total of 51 candidates were rejected for providing wrong documents and were thus ineligible," said the poll panel official.

The highest number of candidates in the run were from the New Delhi constituency with 29 candidates, while the lowest number of candidates registered were for North West Delhi seat with 15 candidates.

A total of 63 candidates are contesting as Independents.

The allotment of symbols to the candidates will also be done March 26 after the final list is out.

Dev said the poll panel would examine all the advertisements posted on Internet and the social networking sites.

"Any complaint received in respect to the use of Internet, and social networking sites during the election campaign shall be examined thoroughly," he said.

The parties have to provide evidence regarding expenditure on advertisements, which will be included in their overall expenses, Dev said.

(Posted on 25-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |