Dindigul (Tamil Nadu), March 25 IANS | 7 months ago

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa Tuesday urged people to vote for her party as the central government acted against the state's interest in the Mullaperiyar Dam issue.

Addressing an election rally here about 450 km from Chennai, the AIADMK general secretary said the centre acted against the interests of the five Tamil Nadu districts, including Dindigul and Theni, in the dam issue.

She said the DMK too which was part of the central government had kept quiet while now it is saying it would urge the centre to increase the dam's water storage level to 152 ft.

Jayalalithaa said as the central government did not deploy Central Industrial Security Force to protect the Mullaperiyar Dam, the Kerala government is putting hurdles in carrying out maintenance work there.

Kerala and Tamil Nadu have been at loggerheads over the dam, built under an 1886 accord between the then Maharaja of Travancore and the erstwhile British.

While it is located in Kerala, the control of the dam is with Tamil Nadu and its waters serve the state.

Tamil Nadu wants the dam's storage capacity to be increased from the current 136 feet (41.5 metres) to 142 feet (43 metres) as per a Supreme Court order, while Kerala wants a new dam as the control will be with it.

Jayalalithaa said the DMK snapped ties with the Congress following the arrest of DMK president M. Karunanaidhi's daughter Kanimozhi and party Lok Sabha member A. Raja.

She said the Sri Lankan Tamil issue was only an incidental reason for DMK to get out of the central government last year and not tying up with the Congress in the general election.

She also faulted with the economic policies of the central government which resulted in price rise, inflation and others.

Urging people to vote for the AIADMK candidate, she said voting for other parties would result in their votes getting scattered and going waste.

(Posted on 25-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |