New Delhi, March 25 IANS | 7 months ago

Sahara group Tuesday offered to the Supreme Court to pay market regulator SEBI in a span of one year Rs.20,000 crore of the money it has to return to the investors collected through Optionally Fully Convertible Debentures (OFCD).

In a fresh proposal to the apex court bench of Justice K.S. Radhakrishnan and Justice J.S. Kehar, the Sahara group said they will deposit Rs.2,500 crore within three working days of the acceptance of its proposal and three instalments of Rs.3,500 each would be deposited with SEBI June 30, Sep 30 and Dec 31. The balance of Rs.7,000 crore would be deposited March 31, 2015.

The Sahara group said its proposal to deposit Rs.20,000 crore to the market regulator in five instalments would be backed by an irrevocable bank guarantee.

The court will consider the proposal Wednesday as it declined to entertain the same Tuesday, saying that it cannot appreciate a proposal being made across the bar. The court said the same should have been submitted to the registry Wednesday evening so that they could have gone through it.

The court had March 4 sent Sahara chief Subrata Roy and his two directors to Tihar jail for failing to deposit the said amount to the market regulator.

(Posted on 25-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |