Mirik (West Bengal), Jan 21 IANS | 9 months ago

With a view to bring about all round development of northern West Bengal, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee Tuesday said she will urge the central government to include various indigenous communities from the region in the Scheduled Tribes list.

"We have been receiving memoranda from various indigenous communities. Since it solely falls under the purview of the centre we will urge them to include various communities from here like Tamang, Bhutia, Chettri, Gurung etc in the ST list," Banerjee said.

Speaking at a programme organised by the local Tamang community in this picturesque tourist spot of Darjeeling district, Banerjee said her government will set up a Development and Cultural Board for the Tamang community.

The chief minister, who Monday inaugurated a branch of the state government secretariat in Jalpaiguri, asserted her government's commitment to the development and progress of the region.

The chief minister also announced the setting up of two polytechnic colleges at Mirik and Kalimpong and three Industrial Training Institutes (ITIs)in Kalimpong, Gorubathan and Mongpu.

"I want Darjeeling to prosper. Peace is essential for development. We have to work together for progress. We are all one. The same blood flows in our veins," said Banerjee about the region which has historically witnessed separatist movements hampering its development.

Stating that it was her 26th visit to the Darjeeling hills after coming to power in 2011, Banerjee asked the people to consider her a "guard" who will protect them as well as work for their welfare.

(Posted on 21-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |