Jaipur, March 23 IANS | 7 months ago

In another jolt for the BJP in Rajasthan, senior BJP leader Subash Maharia, denied a ticket from the Sikar Lok Sabha constituency, Sunday announced he would contest as an independent.

Maharia, a Jat community leader, made the announcement while addressing a big rally in Sikar.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded Swami Sumedhanand from here. Since the announcement of his candidature, Sumedhanand is facing strong opposition from Maharia's supporters.

"After talking to his supporters, Maharia has decided to fight Lok Sabha elections as an independent candidate. He is expected to file his nomination papers on March 26," one of his supporters told IANS on phone from Sikar.

Talking to IANS over phone, Maharia, a minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government said: "I have worked in this parliamentary constituency for over 18 years now. People never wanted to have an outsider candidate from here so they have requested me to fight the elections."

"People don't need any Swami or religious gurus in politics," he said.

Sikar is a Jat-community dominated constituency and the Congress has also fielded P.C. Jat, a Jat, from the constituency.

In the 2009 Lok Sabha polls, Congress' Mahadeo Singh Khandela had won the seat, defeating Maharia.

(Posted on 23-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |