New Delhi, March 22 IANS | 7 months ago

In a move that could create further controversy after denial of ticket to senior leader Jaswant Singh, the BJP Saturday fielded actor Paresh Rawal as the party candidate from Ahmedabad East Lok Sabha constituency, instead of sitting MP Harin Pathak.

The Bharatiya Janata Party's central election committee announced five names for Gujarat that included Prabhatsinh Pratapsinh Chauhan, sitting MP from Panchmahal.

Rawal joined the league of Bollywood actors fielded by the party, including Hema Malini and Shatrughan Sinha.

Pathak is a seven-time Lok Sabha member and is considered close to senior leader L.K. Advani.

There was speculation earlier that the BJP could field prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi from the Ahmedabad East seat.

Modi is contesting from Vadodara in Gujarat and Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh.

The announcement for the Ahmedabad East seat came even as Jaswant Singh voiced his unhappiness over being denied a party ticket from Barmer in Rajasthan.

The party had to earlier deal with a row over a seat for Advani. The party patriarch made clear his preference for contesting from Bhopal rather than Gandhinagar, the seat decided for him by the central election committee.

Advani finally settled for Gandhinagar after persuasion by party leaders.

The party Saturday also announced three candidates for the bye-elections to the Gujarat assembly.

(Posted on 23-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |