Saturday, February 13 2016

Home > News > Sports India News

IBBF shifts 'Mr India' competition in Pune

Posted on Mar 22 2014 | IBNS

Mumbai, Mar 22 : The Indian Bodybuilding Federation (IBBF) recently announced that the 'Mr. India' National Bodybuilding Championships has been shifted to Pune from Hyderabad, owing to the forthcoming Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha elections to be held in the politically surcharged state of Andhra Pradesh.

IBBF noted that the competition, originally scheduled to be held between Mar 21 and Mar 23, however, will now be conducted from Mar 23 to Mar 26 at the Shiv Chhatrapati Kreedapeeth in Balewadi near Pune.

According to the officials, IBBF received active support from the Maharashtra state unit which has decided to take the challenge head on.

With the dates already announced well in advance and the players having started training thereafter, the competition in a sport which drains the pockets of the competitors, there was not much room to play with the dates.

About 450 players from 35 state units, including the Services, Railways and the Paramilitary organizations will be taking part in the competition.

"It was a gigantic task for the national body after the state unit was forced to back out almost at the last minute after having done most of the ground work in Hyderabad," said Chetan Pathare the General Secretary of the National Federation.

"With hardly 3 days left now, the organizers are grappling to raise monetary resources for the event for which the projected expenses are in the region of Rupees 50 lakhs. The prize money will be quite substantial," Pathare added.

The competition will be held in 10 weight groups - between 55 and 100 kilos and every group winner will be the recipient of the title 'Mr.India'.

Latest News: