Mirpur (Bangladesh), March 21 IANS | 7 months ago

Leggie Amit Mishra picked up two for 22 as Indian spinners put on a fine act to restrict arch-rivals Pakistan to 130 for seven in 20 overs in the first match of the tournament of the ICC World T20 at the Shere Bangla National Stadium here Friday.

Umar Akmal was the top scorer with 33 while Ahmed Shehzad (22) and Shoaib Maqsood (21) also made valuable contributions.

Put in by India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Pakistan batsmen faltered right from the start.

Dhoni's decision to attack with three spinners did the trick as the trio of Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja (1/18) and Ravichandran Ashwin (0/23) between then gave away just 63 runs from 12 overs.

The Pakistani batsmen also had to blame themselves for the poor show. Umar Akmal (8) was run out while attempting a dangerous single while skipper Mohammad Hafeez (15) when batting on five almost got himself out as Yuvraj Singh dropped him while attempting a dive.

Shehzad worked hard for his runs but was done in by a classical leg spinner's delivery from Mishra as he charged down the ground and was beaten by flight and Dhoni whipped off the bails.

Shahid Afridi (8), who played a stellar match-winning knock here at the same venue against India three weeks ago, failed to repeat the act and fell while sweeping pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar to Suresh Raina in the deep.

(Posted on 21-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |