Saturday, February 13 2016

Home > News > West Bengal News

Kol hosts '24 GhantaAnanyaSamman Awards '

Posted on Mar 21 2014 | IBNS

Kolkata, Mar 21 : The '24 GhantaAnanyaSamman Awards 1420' was hosted in Kolkata on Thursday, with five personalities from all over Bengal receiving the award for their unconditional contribution to the society.

The packed audience was left moved by the hitherto untold success stories of common men, rendering service to the society from unimaginable circumstances, as their recognition merged with celebrity glory.

Moreover, six celebrated personalities from the fields of literature, drama, academics, sports and entertainment, were also awarded the 'AnanyaSamman Award'.

Bengali elocutionist Bratati Bandopadhay's rendition of Rabindranath Tagore âEuro˜Jhorer KheyalâEuro™ was in sync with the pathos of good samaritans, as Manoranjan Byapari, the author of âEuro˜Chandaal JibonâEuro™, received the 'Ananya Sadharan Award' for his relentless struggle for literature while cooking for the 150 students of a school for differently abled children, to earn a living.

Bilkis Khatun of class 6, was acknowledged for educating aged mass of her village, besides becoming victorious against child marriage.

Jalaluddin Gazi a regular taxi driver, who set up two primary schools educating about 350 students and an orphanage, was recognized while Jhuma Sarkar, the fearless crusader against the law to bring justice to her father wrongfully jailed on a murder case, was also awarded.

Chandan Bawri, devoid of a square meal everyday, is the Junior National Record holder of 2014 200m and 400m race, and was encouraged with the award.

The popular Bengali fiction writer Buddhadeb Guha along with the Professor of Chemistry and SAARN research associate, Vikas Sinha were awarded with the 'Ananya Samman'.

Arun Mukhopadhyay, the theatre stalwart and National Award winner for the role of âEuro˜ParashuramâEuro™ was also felicitated with the award.

Also, the Arjun Puroshkar winner, revered Mohanbagan defender and football coach, Subroto Bhattacharya was awarded the 'Ananya Samman', while the Mani-Srikanta producer duo of Shri Venkatesh Films, having blockbuster hits like 'Sasurbari Zindabad', 'Chokher Bali', 'Chander Pahar' to name a few, were given the 'Ananya Samman'.

The award ceremony was concluded with the power packed performances by noted Indian classical dancer and choreographer in the Odissi, Sharmila Biswas and Indian tabla player Bickram Ghosh.

(Reporting by Shubham Dasgupta, Images by Avishek Mitra/IBNS)

Latest News: