Chittagong, Mar 20 IBNS | 7 months ago

Bangladesh on Thursday progressed to the Super 10 stage of the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 after topping Group A in the first round, a group that also included Afghanistan, Nepal and Hong Kong.

Bangladesh opened the tournament on Mar 16 with a nine-wicket victory over Afghanistan and beat Nepal by eight wickets before losing to Hong Kong by two wickets in its last match.

With two wins from three matches, Bangladesh finished on four points with Nepal, but still progressed to the Super 10 stage owing to its superior Net Run Rate.

Bangladesh has now joined defending ICC World Twenty20 champion West Indies, former champions India and Pakistan, and Australia in Group 2 of the Super 10 stage. Group 2 matches will start at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur from Friday.

Bangladesh will play its opening Super 10 stage match against the West Indies on Tuesday while its remaining matches will be against India on Mar 28, Pakistan on Mar 30 and Australia on Apr 1.

Meanwhile, the winner of Group B will be confirmed after the last first round matches in Sylhet on Mar 21.

As the situation stands at present, Ireland is leading the group with four points from two matches, while the Netherlands and Zimbabwe are sitting on two points each. The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is already out of the race after losing its first two matches.

On Friday, Zimbabwe will take on the UAE, and Ireland will go head to head with the Netherlands.

If Ireland beats the Netherlands, then it will progress to the Super 10 stage. However, if Netherlands wins and Zimbabwe defeats the UAE, then it will be a three-way tie, with net run-rate to decide which side will join England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and South Africa in Group 1 of the Super 10 stage, with these matches to be played at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS) in Chittagong.

(Posted on 21-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |