Sydney, Mar. 17 ANI | 7 months ago

Bangladesh has won the opening match of the ICC World Twenty20 tournament against Afghanistan in Dhaka followed by Nepal winning the second match on the same day against Hong Kong.

Bangladesh totaled the Afghanistan for the second-lowest run total of 72 in the World T20 competitions, who barely managed to miss the first position surpassing Ireland's 68 against West Indies in 2010.

According to, the home team took the Afghanistan out for just 72 runs in 17.1 overs and then chased the score to a successful victory in just 12 overs, with opener Anamul Haque sealing Bangladesh's win with a six off Samiullah Shenwari.

The defeat has left Afghanistan facing an early exit, as just one team will go into the Super-10 stage from the preliminary Group A, which include debuting teams Hong Kong and Nepal as well, the report added.

Bangladesh left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan, who grabbed three wickets for eight runs, was named man of the match and said that the pitch 'obviously' had spin out there, which helped his team bag the opening match, the report added.

Meanwhile, Nepal, who were sent in to bat first, scored 8-149 and won their match against Hong Kong with 80 runs, bowling Hong Kong out for just 69 runs in 17 overs in the day-night match at Chittagong's Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury stadium, the report added.

(Posted on 17-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |