Wednesday, February 10 2016

Home > News > Sports India News

National Hockey: Uttar Pradesh beat Karnataka for third straight win

Posted on Mar 15 2014 | IANS

Lucknow, March 15 : Hosts Uttar Pradesh registered their third consecutive win in the Men's National Hockey Championship (Division A) defeating Karnataka 2-1 in a Pool C game at the Major Dhyan Chand Stadium here Saturday. Uttar Pradesh now lead the pool.

Both the teams failed to score in the limited chances that they got. The second half started with Uttar Pradesh increasing pressure on the opponents and in the 58th minute it was Diwarkar Ram who converted a penalty corner.

Karnataka immediately went on the attack and came back into the game within seven minutes and converted the penalty corner through B.P. Chingappa to level the match. Uttar Pradesh took the decisive lead in the 68th minute when B.S. Biddappa scored through a field goal.

In the second match Saturday in Pool C, Jharkhand's clash against Odisha was a keenly contested match. While the first half of the match did not see any goals, it was in the second half that Jharkhand finally tasted success in the 48th minute when Prakash Kerketa converted a pass.

Jharkhand did not stop here and before the end of the game claimed two more goals scoring in the 53rd and 58th minute.

Pool C- Uttar Pradesh 2 Diwarkar Ram (58 min), Hamza Mujtaba (68 min) vs Karnataka 1 B P Chingappa (65 min)
Pool C Jharkhand 3 Prakash Kerketta (48 min), Markus Topno (53 min), Anup Topno (58 min) vs Hockey Odisha 0
Pool A- Services Sports Control Board 5 Sanjay Singh Yadav (12 min), Rana Pratap (19 min), S Arumugam (23 min), Lovedeep Singh (26min), AP Siraju (53min) vs Andhra Pradesh 2 Ramesh Krishna (42 min), Sampath Kumar (46 min)
Pool D- Haryana 3 Jitender Saroha (25th, 35th min) and Damandeep (65th min) vs Tamil Nadu 1 V Vinod Rayer (69th min)

Latest News: