Sunday, February 14 2016

Home > News > Sports India News

Delhi NCR Cup title: Raj registers maiden victory

Posted on Mar 15 2014 | IBNS

New Delhi, Mar 14 : Aman Raj posted his maiden victory on the Indian Golf Union circuit when he completed a wire to wire victory to emerge as the new champion of the ninth edition of the Delhi NCR Cup that culminated at the Delhi Golf Club here on Friday.

Leading by six shots at the start of the final round, the lad from Patna was a 5-stroke winner over another upcoming youngster Feroz Singh Garewal of Chandigarh.

Aman closed in with a 5-over 77 for a 72-hole total of 293 while Feroz submitted a final card of 3-over 75. Bangalorean Jaibir Singh finished third with a total of 299 while citymate Udayan Mane slipped to the fourth position for a total of 300.

Varoon Parmar finished fifth at 302 while Vikram Rana and Pratap Atwal were tied for the sixth position just a shot behind.

Vikram Rana emerged as the winner of the Delhi State Championship while Pratap Atwal was the runner-up.

Aman began his final march in a brilliant fashion making birdies on the first two holes. Incurring a bogey on the fourth, Aman made another birdie on the eighth before making another bogey on the ninth to take the turn at 1-under. On the back nine, the diminutive lad began his back nine on a bad note making a hat trick of bogeys and four shots in the next three holes. However the only solace for him on the return journey was a birdie on the finishing hole.

"I am very happy. Actually this has not yet sunk in," said the champion who has come back from a back injury which had forced him to stay away from the game for almost the entire season.

"I think the front nine made a lot of difference and I took it easy on the back nine," admitted Aman. "I hope to carry on the form for the entire season," he added.

Scores after 72 holes:

293 Aman Raj (70, 73, 73, 77); 298 Feroz Singh Garewal (75, 75, 73, 75); 299 Jaibir Singh (81, 75, 69, 74); 300 Udayan Mane (74, 74, 74, 78); 302 Varoon Parmar (81, 71, 74, 76); 303 Vikram Rana (78, 78, 75, 72), Pratap Atwal (76, 73, 76, 78); 306 Pukhraj Singh Gill (77, 79, 81, 69), Ajit Rawat (74, 75, 83, 74); 307 Hemendra Chaudhary (82, 76, 78, 71), Trishul Chinnappa (78, 77, 78, 74); 308 Simarjeet Singh (79, 70, 75, 84); 309 Arshad Ali (79, 75, 77, 78); 310 Samarth Dwivedi (76, 79, 79, 76); 311 Ramos Joa (82, 76, 73, 80)

Latest News: