New Delhi, March 13 IANS | 8 months ago

Hockey India (HI) Thursday slapped bans ranging from three to six months on 21 players for breaching the code of conduct and bringing disrepute to the sport.

Besides imposing the bans on the players, the HI disciplinary committee also banned North Central Railways women's team manager Pushpa Srivastava for six months and coach Shradha Verma for nine months after the team walked off the field against Haryana XI during the India Invitation Prize Money Women Tournament held on 28th Feb 2014.

The enitre 16-member North Central Railways women's team has also been banned for six months.

Punjab and Sind Bank players Sarvanjit Singh and Karamjit Singh and Air India's Gurpreet Singh were also slapped with a six-month ban for an onfield spat during the 48th All India Bombay Gold Cup Tournament.

The altercation resulted in all the three players getting a red card. All the three players will be on probation for a period of one year from October 1 and any repeat incident of such nature will immediately result in another ban of one year.

Indian Army's Bachitter Singh was also slapped with a six-month ban and Namdhari XI Team's Harpreet Singh got a three-month suspension. Bachitter was punished for physically and verbally assaulting the on-field umpire, Virender Singh during the 3rd All India Sahizada Ajit Singh Hockey Champions Trophy 2013.

Harpreet was banned from playing any tournament for a period of three months beginning for getting involved in a disciplinary case.

(Posted on 13-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |