Johannesburg, Mar 9 ANI | 2 years ago

Sri Lanka has won their fifth Asia Cup title by beating defending champions Pakistan by five wickets on Saturday in the finals at Dhaka.

Left-handed opener Lahiru Thirimanne hit an impressive 101 for his third one-day hundred to anchor Sri Lanka's successful chase of a 261-run target in 46.2 overs at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium.

According to Sport24, Thirimanne hit 13 boundaries during his 108-ball knock and steadied the chase during a solid 156-run third-wicket partnership with veteran teammate Mahela Jayawardene, who made 75.

The report mentioned that Pakistan's main spinner Saeed Ajmal had broken through after Sri Lanka's confident start of 56, dismissing Kusal Perera (42) and Kumar Sangakkara (nought) off successive deliveries.

Sri Lanka had also won the Asia Cup in 1986, 1997, 2004 and 2008, the report added.

(Posted on 09-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries