Kolkata, March 6 IANS | 8 months ago

With reigning Bengali superstar Dev and actor Moon Moon Sen featuring in the Trinamool Congress' star-studded candidate list from West Bengal for the April-May Lok Sabha polls, congratulations poured in for the two from the regional film fraternity Thursday.

Dev will be contesting from Ghatal in West Midnapore district and Moon Moon - daughter of legendary Bengali heroine Suchitra Sen and herself a film actress - will be in fray from Bankura.

Party chairperson Mamata Banerjee announced the names at her residence hours after the Election Commission notified the polls Wednesday.

Tollywood actress Rituparna Sengupta wished Dev for his new journey and hoped Sen would clinch a victory.

"I wish Dev all the best for his new journey. Moon Moon Sen is a woman of calibre and I wish she wins," Sengupta told IANS.

Composer-singer Jeet Gannguly of "Aashiqui 2" fame said" "Much like he has taken the film world by storm I hope he will do the same in the world of politics."

Actor Soham also extended his congratulations.

Other big names in the fray on the Trinamool ticket include former Indian soccer skipper Baichung Bhutia, great revolutionary Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose's nephew and Harvard professor Sugata Bose, popular Bengali band Bhoomi's lead singer Soumitra Roy, theatre personality Arpita Ghosh and eminent singer Indranil Sen.

Sen would try his luck from Berhampore in Murshidabad district, from where the Congress is likely to again field its state chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury.

"I am confident that we will win the seat," said Sen.

Banerjee also announced that Bengali cine stars and incumbent MPs Satabdi Roy and Tapas Pal will again contest from Birbhum and Krishnanagar respectively.

(Posted on 06-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |