New Delhi, March 5 IANS | 8 months ago

Delhi Metro users can now get their smart cards recharged automatically, courtesy their credit or debit cards, at the AFC (Automatic Fare Collection) gates, Delhi Metro said Wednesday.

Interested passengers just need to fill up a form, giving their assent to deduct a particular amount from their credit or debit cards.

The form can be collected and submitted at seven metro stations: Sikanderpur, Huda City Centre, Badarpur, Nehru Place, Govindpuri, Lajpat Nagar and Kailash Colony.

Passengers can also give their contact details to the customer care officials at the stations who will then contact passengers for further processing.

"Once the application is approved by the bank, which is likely to take a week's time, the smart card will be registered for the auto top-up facility and linked to the (bank) account after registration," it said.

The smart cards can be recharged by placing them on the swipe machine.

After registration, passengers will have to get their smart cards activated for the new facility from any of the 41 designated stations.

Following activation, the smart card will be automatically recharged with Rs.200 if its value falls below Rs.100. The amount will be deducted from the passenger's account and will be credited to Delhi Metro.

Presently, about 70 percent of the metro commuters use smart cards, with close to 25,000 smart cards being sold daily.

Initially available at 54 stations, the top-up facility is expected to be extended to all metro stations within six to eight months.

(Posted on 05-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |