Jaipur, March 5 IANS | 8 months ago

The Lok Sabha elections in Rajasthan will be held in two phases, election commission officials said Wednesday.

Voting for the 25 parliamentary constituencies in the state will take place April 17 and 24, a state election commission officer said.

The Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have intensified their preparations, with stalwarts from both parties scheduled to hold public rallies at various places in the coming days.

Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi will meet party workers during his visit to Deoli town in Tonk district March 10. He is also likely to address a rally.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is also in the fray this time, and has said it will field candidates in all 25 Lok Sabha constituencies from Rajasthan. It has already announced names of candidates for three constituencies in the state.

In the last elections in 2009, the Congress won in 20 constituencies, while the BJP bagged four seats. One seat was won by an Independent candidate.

Experts said the recently-held assembly elections, in which the BJP won, may influence the electorate.

"Given the fact that the Congress fared so bad in the assembly elections, chances are dim that it will be able to win substantial seats in the general elections," said political analyst Vijay Sharma.

(Posted on 05-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |