Thursday, February 11 2016

Home > News > Sports India News

32 teams to participate in Women National Championship

Posted on Mar 04 2014 | IBNS

Mysore, Mar 4 : The 4th edition of the Hockey India Junior Women National Championship will kick-start here from Wednesday.

The nineteen-day meet will see 32 teams from different parts of the country vying for honors in the play on a league-cum-knockout basis at the Chamundi Vihar Stadium here.

This edition will see two new teams including Hockey Gangpur- Odisha and Vidarbha Hockey Association.

The championship will be played in two phases Division A and B.

There will be 16 teams each competing in Division A and Division B.

Division B of the championship will be played from Mar 5-13 and Division A will be played from Mar 15- 23.

The inaugural match of Division B shall be played between Chhattisgarh and Himachal Pradesh in Pool C on Mar 5. The final match of Division B will be played on Mar 13.

In Division A, last year's bronze medalist Jharkhand will take on Bengal in the opening match on Mar 15 and the final will be played on Mar 23.

Defending champions Haryana are placed in Pool A with Tamil Nadu, Sports Authority of India and Rajasthan while Runners-up of the third edition of the championship Madhya Pradesh are placed in Pool B with Delhi, Karnataka and Bhopal. Defending champions Haryana will take on Sports Authority of India in their opening match on Mar 15.

In the previous edition, Haryana defeated Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 2-1 to claim the title in a hard fought match.

Latest News: