Lucknow, March 4 IANS | 8 months ago

Chhattisgarh defeated Kerala 3-2 in the fourth edition of the Hockey India (HI) National Championship here Tuesday.

At half time, when Kerala were leading 2-0, nobody could have expected Chhattisgarh to make a comeback and go on to win the match.

Kerala started with great speed and scored in the 18th minute through Sarin. They added another barely a minute before halftime via Jithu Sasi.

In the second half, Chhattisgarh started their goal-spree with Shakeel Ahmed scoring through a penalty corner (54th minute). They continued their attack and, within eight minutes, managed to level the match with Mohd. Erfan Khan's field goal. In the dying moments, the team scored again (69th) through Upendra Pillay.

In another match, Puducherry thrashed Tripura 11-1. While Tripura's Arif Hussain started the goal scoring session in the ninth minute, it were Puducherry who rained goals during the rest of the match.

A. Tamilarasan scored a hat-trick with all his goals coming in the second half while M. Harikrishna, V. Karthikeyan and N. Kamalakannan scored two goals each.

In the third match of the day, debutants Gangpur (Odisha) beat Mizoram 6-0. Gangpur took off in the third minute with Ashish Anmol Minz scoring through a field goal. The second goal was scored by Banamali Xess (13th). Within four minutes, Minz scored his second goal, converting through a penalty corner. Going into the break, Gangpur led 5-0.

Just four minutes into the second half, Gangpur's Sashi Topno finished the scoring with the sixth.


Pool D: Chattisgarh 3 beat Kerala 2

Pool C: Puducherry 11 beat Tripura 1; Gangpur 6 beat Mizoram 0

(Posted on 04-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |