Dubai, March 2 IANS | 8 months ago

World No.1 Rafael Nadal and India's doubles specialists Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna will be seen in action for the Mumbai franchise in the inaugural edition of the International Tennis Premier League (IPL).

Besides Nadal, Sania and Bopanna, the retired Pete Sampras will also be seen in action for Mumbai. Gael Monfils, Ana Ivanovic and Fabrice Santoro have also been bought by the Mumbai franchise during the first player's draft that took place here Sunday.

The team owners during the and finalised the planned operations for the first season slated to be held from Nov 28 to Dec 14 - in the four Asian cities of Singapore, Bangkok, Mumbai and Dubai. The owners splurged approximately $24 million in buying players.

Dubai bought Novak Djokovic, Caroline Wozniacki, Goran Ivanisevic, Janko Tipsarevic, Nenad Zimonic, Malek Jaziri and Martina Hingis.

Wimbledon champion Andy Murray and French star Jo Wilfred Tsonga will be seen in action for the Bangkok franchise. Victoria Azarenka, Daniel Nestor, Carlos Moya, Kirsten Flipkens have also been bought by Bangkok.

Moya, who attended the draft, said he was happy to play for Bangkok.

"I'm very excited to be part of this competition, and look forward to playing for Bangkok. I have fond memories from the days I've played there," he said.

Owners are allowed to add and have up to 10 players on their roster. Team owners are due to make their own announcements in their relative cities over the next few weeks.

The 2014 IPTL Season will feature 24 matches across the four host cities in the Middle East and Asia. This unique format will have all four teams competing in a round-robin format in each of the four cities.

Current list of players:

Singapore (November 28-30): Tomas Berdych, Andre Agassi, Lleyton Hewitt, Serena Williams, Bruno Soares, Patrick Rafter, Daniela Hantuchova, Nick Krygios

Bangkok (December 2-4): Andy Murray, Jo Wilfred Tsonga, Victoria Azarenka, Daniel Nestor, Carlos Moya, Kirsten Flipkens

Mumbai (December 7-9): Rafael Nadal, Gael Monfils, Pete Sampras, Rohan Bopanna, Ana Ivanovic, Sania Mirza, Fabrice Santoro

Dubai (December 11-13): Novak Djokovic, Caroline Wozniacki, Goran Ivanisevic, Janko Tipsarevic, Nenad Zimonic, Malek Jaziri, Martina Hingis

(Posted on 03-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |