Ahmednagar (Maharashtra), Feb 24 IANS | 8 months ago

In yet another pre-election jolt to the Shiv Sena, its influential MP from Shirdi, Bhausaheb Wakchaure, joined the Congress Monday.

Wakchaure crossed over at a public function in Shrirampur here.

Wakchaure becomes the third Shiv Sena MP to quit the party in the past weeks, sounding alarm bells in the opposition coalition, which comprises the Sena, the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Republican Party of India-Athavale. The two others joined the Nationalist Congress Party.

However, it is still not clear whether the Congress and NCP will reward the newcomers with tickets from their respective parties.

Putting up a brave face, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray termed them as "greedy" leaders who have taken refuge in "sinking ships".

The other two MPs are Ganesh Dudhgaonkar from Parbhani and Anand Paranjpe from Thane. There are apprehensions that more middle-rung leaders might switch over as the Lok Sabha elections approach.

Thackeray also declared at a rally Sunday night in Thane district that henceforth, "there would be no democracy" in the Shiv Sena. "Whatever decisions I take, shall be the final word."

(Posted on 24-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |