Sunday, February 07 2016

Home > News > West Bengal News

Kolkata to have 4 new police stations

Posted on Feb 24 2014 | IBNS

Kolkata, Feb 24 : The West Bengal government is considering to create four new police stations in Kolkata's southern region for better policing.

Sarshuna, Panchasayar, Anandapur and Netajinagar will come under new police stations.

Thakurpur police station will be divided to set up the Sarsuna PS. Purba Jadavpur will be divided to form the Panchasayar PS, Tiljala PS will be divided to form the Anandapur PS while the Patuli PS will be divided to form the Netajinagar PS.

In 2011, after Mamata Banerjee became the chief minister, 8 police stations in South 24 Parganas were divided to form 17 new police stations for providing better administrative amenities to the citizens.

In near future there are plans to set up another four police stations.

The Behala PS may be divided to form the Behala South PS, the Haridevpur PS be divided to Barisha PS, the Kasba PS may be divided into Rajdanga PS and the Jadavpur PS may be divided to form the Golf Green PS.

Latest News: