Ahmedabad, Feb 17 IBNS | 8 months ago

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi on Monday slammed the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government over its vote-on-account and said it was 'extremely disappointing'.

"UPA's last vote-on-account is extremely disappointing! It is nothing but a glorified exercise in self-congratulation," Modi said in a series of tweets.

Attacking Union Finance Minister P Chidambarm over the interim budget, the Gujarat Chief Minister said: "While the FM may pat his own back, the fact remains that our youth is bearing the brunt of rising unemployment."

"Mere lip-service by the FM on the return of black money; UPA's lack of commitment towards bringing black money was on display yet again," he posted on his Twitter homepage.

Criticising the Finance Minister and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Modi said: "It is upto the people to decide whether the Economist PM & FM have been 'hard working' or 'hardly working' in their tenure.The only solace one gets from the vote-on-account is that this was UPA's final act of misery after a decade of decay & policy paralysis."

Modi, however, appreciated the 'One Rank, One Pension' scheme.

"I welcome the decision on 'One Rank, One Pension' for our servicemen. Belated wisdom finally dawns on our 'hard working' UPA ministers," Modi tweeted.

The Government has allocated Rs. 500 crores to the Defence Pension Account in the current financial year itself for implementation of One Rank One Pension scheme for the Defence Forces of the country.

Making the announcement in Parliament on Monday during his Interim Budget Speech, Union Finance Minister P. Chidambaram said that this decision will be implemented prospectively from the financial year 2014-15.

The Finance Minister said the Government had decided to walk the last mile and close the gap for all retirees in all ranks.

He said the demand of the Defence Services for One Rank One Pension (OROP) had been there for a long time and had been an emotive issue.

(Posted on 18-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |