Sunday, February 14 2016

Home > News > Sports India News

Perera pips Lahiri to win Eagleburg Open golf

Posted on Feb 15 2014 | IANS

Bangalore, Feb 15 : Mithun Perera of Sri Lanka came up with a resolute one-under-71 in the final round of the PGTI Eagleburg Open to bag his second title in two weeks here Saturday.

Perera signed off with a tournament total of 22-under-266 to register a three-shot win despite defending champion Anirban Lahiri's spirited challenge on the final day at the Eagleton Golf Resort.

Local favourite Lahiri secured runner-up position after a four-under-68 in round four that saw him end up with a total of 19-under-269.

Perera (65-66-64-71) and Lahiri (68-65-68-68) were involved in a very keen contest Saturday with a few twists and turns.

Lahiri made all the moves on the first 11 holes with five birdies against a lone bogey to overcome a huge six-shot deficit and draw level with Perera who had only two bogeys to show on that stretch.

Lahiri landed it within five feet on the second and sixth and converted 10 to 12 feet putts on the fifth and 11th. Perera, on the other hand, struggled with bogeys on the ninth and 11th where he had a poor approach shot and a bad bounce respectively.

It was then a see-saw battle over the next three holes as Lahiri made bogey-birdie-bogey. The match swung decisively in Perera's favour when he made an eagle on the 15th that gave him a three-shot advantage with three holes to play.
The Sri Lankan played his shot of the tournament when he holed his third from 110 yards for eagle on the 15th.

Lahiri did manage a birdie on the 17th but it was too little too late as Perera sealed it with a magnificent approach for birdie on the final hole.

Perera thus bagged his fifth professional title and ended Lahiri's golden run of four wins from four starts on the PGTI on the latter's home course.

Latest News: