Bhubaneswar, Feb 14 IANS | 8 months ago

The Odisha assembly Friday unanimously passed a bill to set up a Lokayukta in the state which will bring under its purview the chief minister and the council of ministers, among many others, an official said.

The bill was passed on the lines of the Lokpal Bill 2013 enacted by both houses of parliament and which has received President Pranab Mukherjee's assent.

Under the central act, each state must also pass a Lokayukta Act within a year. Odisha became the first state to pass a Lokayukta bill in about one-and-half months time.

According to the Odisha Lokayukta Act 2014, the Lokayukta will be a five-member body. It will be led by a judge or chief justice of the Odisha high court and will have two judicial members, including the chairperson.

Out of the three non judicial members, one will be reserved for scheduled categories and women. Appointment of such member will be on rotation basis. The Lokayukta can inquire or direct an inquiry into any corruption related matters in the state.

The last session of the 14th Odisha assembly, which began Feb 3, was extended for a day as the discussion on the bill remained inconclusive Thursday.

(Posted on 14-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |