Tuesday, February 09 2016

Home > News > Cricket News

Ishant's fifer dents New Zealand (Tea Report)

Posted on Feb 14 2014 | IANS

Wellington, Feb 14 : Ishant Sharma's five wicket haul helped India reduce New Zealand to 166 for eight at tea on day one of the second and final Test at the Basin Reserve here Friday.

New Zealand, who went to lunch at 51 for four, lost another four wickets in the session but scored 115 runs at five runs per over.

Ishant (5/44) took five wickets for the fifth time in Tests with Mohammed Shami (3/66) supporting well at the other end.

Kane Williamson managed 47 after he was caught twice off a no ball. Tim Southee (19) and Neil Wagner were in the middle.

Earlier, India got the early wickets but they could have got a couple more had they bowled a fuller length on a green pitch.

Ishant removed Hamish Rutherford (12) in the 10th over, the southpaw was unable to negotiate a short ball and nicked it to Murali Vijay at first slip.

The lanky Indian pacer trapped Peter Fulton (13) in front with a fuller delivery that came back off the seam, making it 26 for two.

Tom Latham, who replaced the injured Ross Taylor in the side, could only last eight balls. Ishant got one another one to seam away, finding the edge of the left hander's willow on way to the wicket-keeper.

Skipper Brendon McCullum (8) came in the middle to join Williamson. Just when a partnership was developing between the two in-form players, Shami had the dangerous McCullum caught at short cover.

Drama occurred on the last ball of the session with Zaheer Khan getting Williamson caught behind off what turned out to be a no-ball.

The batsman was given another life after the lunch break. He was caught at short leg off Ishant before umpire confirmed that it happened on a no-ball.

Latest News: