Jammu, Feb 12 IANS | 8 months ago

Opposition legislators Wednesday again disrupted the proceedings of the Jammu and Kashmir assembly session now going on in winter capital Jammu.

Legislators of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), National Panthers Party, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the ruling Congress-National Conference legislators started shouting at one another when the proceedings began.

The opposition legislators in the 87-member legislative assembly accused the ruling alliance of discrimination against areas represented by them in proposing new administrative units.

PDP legislators walked out of the state assembly and said they would meet Governor N.N. Vohra to seek his intervention as their demands were being overlooked by the government.

PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti said her party would not allow normal functioning of the assembly till the state government announces new administrative units in areas which, according to her, have been ignored on political considerations.

PDP legislator Mushtaq Ahmad Shah was injured Tuesday in a scuffle with the assembly marshals who were ordered by Speaker Mubarak Gul to remove the protesting member out of the house.

The legislator was later admitted to a hospital in Jammu city for treatment.

(Posted on 12-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |