Johannesburg, Feb 11 ANI | 8 months ago

Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has reportedly removed Mohammad Zaka Ashraf from the post of the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in the latest twist to a long-running saga dogging the national board.

It is the second time in less than a year that Ashraf, whose removal last year due to doubts over his election led to a series of legal challenges, has been unseated as chairman of the PCB, which will be run for the time being by an 11-strong committee appointed by Sharif.

According to Sport24, a notice from the prime minister, who is also a patron of the PCB, confirmed Ashraf's removal, although the reasons for Ashraf's removal are still unknown.

However, sources said that Ashraf's failure to give Pakistan a strong voice at a crucial ICC meeting in Singapore, where a controversial revamp giving major powers and revenues to the 'big Three'-India, Australia, England- was approved, may be behind his removal.

The 11-man committee appointed Najam Sethi- the interim chairman before Ashraf was reinstated- as chairman of the new body and Sethi said that their first task would be to form a new constitution under which elections could be held for PCB chairman.

Sethi also said that they have to restore the prestige of Pakistan cricket, which is left isolated and made a minority through a failure at the ICC meeting.

The 11-man interim committee includes Sethi, former PCB chairman Shaharyar Khan and former cricketers Iqbal Qasim and Zaheer Abbas among others, the report added.

(Posted on 11-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |