Johannesburg, Feb 9 ANI | 8 months ago

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has insisted that the agreement reached by the ICC board in Singapore is a work in progress which will guarantee the sustainability of the game and a democratic system of leadership in the long term.

South Africa supported the proposals at an ICC board meeting in Singapore on Saturday, giving them the extra vote they needed to pass and of the ten full ICC members, eight were in favour with only Pakistan and Sri Lanka abstaining.

According to Sport24, CSA president Chris Nenzani said that all countries, including the so-called 'Big Three', have had to rethink and make concessions and the final terms that were approved in the ICC meeting include significant changes from the original proposals presented in January.

Nenzani further said that it is key to remain engaged to preserve the financial stability of the game over the next eight-year cycle from 2015 to 2023, adding that they have not only managed to do that but also created the opportunity for current associate members to aspire to play Test cricket.

Nenzani also said that this is only a transitional arrangement and from 2016 there will be fully democratic elections for all the governing positions in the ICC including the chairpersons of the Board and the other committees, without any restrictions, in order to stay true to the principles of good corporate governance.

Nenzani concluded by saying that all these decisions and those yet to come will help cricket to move forward with a unified sense of purpose and ensure the future of the game.

(Posted on 10-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |