Saturday, February 13 2016

Home > News > India News

Telangana handling was erroneous: Farooq Abdullah

Posted on Feb 10 2014 | IBNS

New Delhi, Feb 10 : While the Parliament is witnessing uproar and adjournments over the Telangana issue, Union Minister for New and Renewable Energy Farooq Abdullah on Monday said there had been errors in the handling of the Telangana row.

"I think it has gone terribly out of gear. If people of a state don't want the division of the state and the state assembly has rejected it, then we should not go ahead with it in Parliament," he told media.

Amid uproar over the Talangana issue, the Rajya Sabha was adjourned till 2 PM on Monday after MPs rushed to the Well of the House.

The MPs were also witnessed throwing papers on Rajya Sabha Chairperson Hamid Ansari.

Meanwhile, the Lok Sabha has been adjourned for the day.

While the President of India Pranab Mukherjee has rapped the political parties like AAP and BJP over disruption of houses without naming them, the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha were earlier adjourned till 12 noon amidst protests over Telangana.

As soon as the Houses assembled, the ruckus over the Telangana statehood started, forcing the houses to be adjourned.

President Pranab Mukherjee reminded earlier the lawmakers of their duty and asked them to introspect over the functioning of the Parliament.

"Parliament's function is to debate, dissent and decide and not get disrupted," he told the lawmakers.

Earlier, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has invited BJP senior leaders LK Advani, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley for dinner on Wednesday to discuss the Parliament logjam.

According to an NDTV report, the PM will reportedly discuss the stalemate in Parliament and the Lokpal Bill, which has pitted the Opposition and the ruling government against each other.

The BJP has opposed the PM's selection of a jurist, PP Rao, for the panel that will select the national anti-corruption ombudsman or the Lokpal.

Latest News: