New Delhi, Feb 9 IANS | 9 months ago

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) is likely to revoke the suspension of India after the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) elected new office-bearers here Sunday, keeping the tainted officials out of the process.

World Squash Federation (WSF) chief N. Ramachandran was unopposed elected the IOA president while Kho Kho Federation of India (KKFI) president Rajeev Mehta and All India Tennis Association (AITA) president Anil Khanna were elected, also unopposed, respectively as the secretary general and treasurer.

The polls were conducted in the presence of three IOC observers headed by Dr. Robin Mitchell and Pere Miro and Jerome Poivey.

Mitchell said that a decision on revoking India's suspension from the Olympic Movement will be taken before the closing ceremony of the Sochi Winter Olympics at IOC's executive committee meeting Feb 23.

"By tomorrow 5 o'clock, we will be in Sochi and will submit our report to IOC president Thomas Bach. On February 23, before the closing of the Winter Games, the IOC executive committee will meet and will take a call on the suspension," Mitchell told reporters.

Most of the candidates for the IOA posts were elected unanimously but a contest could not be avoided for the eight posts of vice-president for which nine candidates had filed nominations.

Only Rowing Federation of India (RFI) president Rajlaxmi Singh Deo missed out as Anurag Thakur, Akhilesh Das Gupta, Janardhan Singh Gehlot, R.K. Anand, G.S. Mandher, Tarlochan Singh, Birendra Prasad Baishya and Parminder Singh Dhindsa were elected the vice-presidents.

The IOA was suspended by the IOC in December 2012 over its controversial elections which did not comply with the Olympic Charter. Indians, since then, have been participating as individual athletes under the Olympic flag.

New IOA office-bearers:

President: N. Ramachandran
Senior vice-president: Virendra Nanavati
Vice-presidents: Anurag Thakur, Akhilesh Das Gupta, Janardhan Singh Gehlot, R.K. Anand, G.S. Mandher, Tarlochan Singh, Birendra Prasad Baishya, Parminder Singh Dhindsa
Secretary General: Rajeev Mehta
Treasurer: Anil Khanna

(Posted on 09-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |