Agra, Feb 9 IANS | 8 months ago

The Agra Municipal Corporation will Monday launch a campaign targeting illegal coal supply from 15-odd depots to petha-making units, officials here said Sunday.

The district authorities have already demolished more than a score 'petha bhatties' (furnaces) and shut down several units in the Noori Darwaza market area for violating the Supreme Court's directives on pollution control.

Petha-making units have been told to stop using coal as fuel or shift away from the city. Petha is a translucent soft candy made from ash gourd and is popular in north India and Pakistan too.

Officials said a dozen units applied for commercial gas connection at a special camp that was set up for three days.

Municipal corporation officials said the campaign to shut down the remaining polluting petha units will resume Monday. Police have been asked to stay alert to defuse any agitation or resistance.

The Supreme Court in 1996 banned the use of coal in the Taj Trapezium Zone, while disposing of a plea to save the Taj Mahal from air pollution.

All polluting industries in the eco-sensitive zone extending to over 10,000 square km were ordered to switch to gas-based technology or move out.

(Posted on 09-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |