Wednesday, February 10 2016

Home > News > Sports India News

AIFF barred from participating in IOA elections

Posted on Feb 09 2014 | IANS

New Delhi, Feb 9 : The All India Football Federation (AIFF) was Sunday prohibited from participating in the Indian Olympic Association's (IOA) election for failure to present proper documents for the electoral process.

AIFF treasurer Hardev Jadeja came to attend Sunday's meeting.

The IOA, though, contended that the letter sent to the Olympic body by AIFF did not have the signature of either its president or general secretary and therefore it didn't allow the AIFF representatives to attend the meet.

As decided earlier, the Indian Boxing Federation (IBF) too was barred from taking part in the IOA elections.

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the International Boxing Association (AIBA) had Jan 31 said that no member from the suspended IBF will be allowed to vote in the IOA election.

AIBA executive director Ho Kim told IOC in a letter that since the IBF has been slapped with suspension since December 2012, no member of that body is eligible to take part in the election. The IBF was suspended over its controversial election process.

Latest News: