Bangalore, Feb 8 IBNS | 8 months ago

The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) on Saturday celebrated the pursuit of basic and applied sciences by honoring seven researchers for outstanding contributions to their respective fields of study here.

The fifth year celebrations saw former United Nations Secretary-General Kofi A. Annan felicitating winners of the Infosys Prize 2013 across six categories - Engineering and Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences.

The seven winners of the Infosys Prize 2013 were - Ramgopal Rao for Engineering and Computer Science, Nayanjot Lahiri for Archaeology and Ayesha Kidwai for Linguistics under the Humanities category, Rajesh Gokhale for Life Sciences, Rahul Pandharipande for Mathematics, Shiraz Naval Minwalla for Physical Sciences and Aninhalli R. Vasavi for Social Sciences.

Annan said, "Academic and scientific research play a core role towards solving some of the big challenges of our times such as climate change, environmental degradation, food shortages and poverty alleviation. Scientific research is also key in the long overdue switch from fossil fuels to renewable energy and green technologies. It is no overstatement to say that the future of the world depends on the ingenuity of the young scientists dedicating their lives and talents to the resolution of these issues."

N.R. Narayana Murthy, Trustee, Infosys Science Foundation and Executive Chairman of the Board, Infosys said, "Progress of scientific research in India is crucial to the development of our nation and an area of keen interest to me. I am a scientist at heart with an enduring romance for science. The Infosys Prize is the culmination of a long cherished vision to recognize excellence in research and inspire many more Indians to pursue careers in fields of science and humanities."

(Posted on 08-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |