Kolkata, Feb 8 IANS | 9 months ago

Three Left Front legislators in the West Bengal assembly joined Trinamool Congress Saturday, a day after voting for the ruling party in the Rajya Sabha polls.

Ananta Deb Adhikary and Dasarath Tirkey of the Revolutionary Socialist Party and Sunil Mondal of the Forward Bloc formally pitched their lot with the Trinamool in the presence of its national general secretary Mukul Roy.

The troika had cross-voted for Trinamool candidate Ahmed Hasan Imran in the elections to the upper house Friday.

Roy said two Congress members - Sushil Roy and Imani Biswas - who had also cross-voted for Imran, were also ready to join the Trinamool.

"The three Left Front legislators have joined us...they had wanted to join us and they wanted to quit as legislators. As part of the political strategy...they will resign when the time is right but from today they have joined us...we did not let them resign beforehand due to political reasons," Roy told the media.

"The three cast their votes for TMC to protest against the activities of the Left parties. The other two...Congress MLAs are ready to join us.

"You will notice the five legislators belong to the Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribe and minorities," said Roy.

He claimed "plenty" of Communist Party of India-Marxist members have contacted the Trinamool to join its fold.

"Due to the bad policies of the Left Front, and particularly the CPI-M, several of its members are on the fringe...and may move over to TMC. The way CPI-M leaders are running their party ...they should look inwards," he warned the opposition.

He asserted CPI-M is "inconsequential" at the moment.

"For 35 years they had indulged in hooliganism and were finally ousted by the public...they will not be seen for the next few decades..they have been wiped out," he said.

(Posted on 08-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |